Let the Renovations Begin

Our first big project we completed was putting a new roof on our home. The current roof was well over 30 years old. It needed to be replaced. There were a few water damage areas on the ceiling due to it’s poor condition. We also had two 60ft pine trees in the front yard (that is another post I will be writing about in the future) that were keeping the front of the house shaded at all times. It was so worn down and brittle.

Shingles Being Delivered

Shingles Being Delivered

  Goodbye Old Shingles

I couldn’t be more thankful to have a father who used to own his own roofing business back in the day! Within a week, we had a new roof! My dad had some help from Spencer and a few amazing family friends. And course, myself. I had to argue with my dad to let me get up there and use the nail gun to put shingles on the roof, but after a few days of being feisty, he let me!!! It was awesome!

Pleaseeeee can I help!

Pleaseeeee can I help!

I win!

I win!

IMG_6473 IMG_6472
We also had a skylight in our bedroom that we removed. We added an awesome light fixture in its place. (I will share that in a future post) But this skylight was old, cracked, and needed to be replaced. It would have been more expensive to replace the skylight that had blinds, preferably automatic ones. I couldn’t imagine myself using a long bar/tool to open and close the blinds on the skylight everyday, morning and night. But in reality, we use our bedroom to sleep and the last thing we need is for it to be light and bright at all hours of the day. On top of that we do have 2 windows in our room as well. So goodbye skylight.

Skylight Removed

Skylight Removed

But, we couldn’t have been any more relieved to have a new roof. Soon after, parts of Rhode Island, especially the town we live in, was destroyed by a micro storm. Which basically uprooted trees and various others things outside, tore down power lines within an hour time span. It looked like a tornado or hurricane hit. We lost power, thankfully that was all. But some people had trees damage theirs home or cars and were without power for a week. Businesses who lost power were closed for a few days. It was a storm that no one thought was going to have the outcome it did. The thunder and lightning was terrifying. Like nothing none of us had ever heard. The rain came down so fast, our street looked like a river. It was insane. So, we were so thankful our roof was done before that happened.

IMG_6449  IMG_6432 IMG_6448  IMG_6431

In the end, Spencer and I saved a lot of money because of my dad. We only paid for materials. We are so thankful for everything my dad has done for our home. Of course, my dad, being a dad, didn’t stop there. You will be reading about how awesome he is in some upcoming posts. We are also so thankful for the help we received from our family friends! It is so great to have such amazing people in our lives!

IMG_6452

I hope everyone enjoyed this post! After looking back and remembering this time, it really makes me appreciate my dad so much. He will always help me whenever I need him too, or even if I don’t want him too. But that’s what dad’s do right?

Before

Before 

After

After

Looking forward to writing the next post… the bathroom… now THAT post.. I will have quite a bit to say.

Leave a Reply

